Is Seitan Good For Your Health

Plant-Based Meal
Plant-Based Meal
Plant-Based Meal
Plant-Based Meal

Seitan is a vegan meat substitute that people add to their plant-based meal these days. There are many vegan meat substitutes available in the market right now and most of them are made from soybeans. If you are a vegan and have a soy allergy, you cannot eat those soy-based vegan meat substitutes. Then your best choice is seitan because it is made from wheat gluten and water.

Seitan is a great source of plant-based protein and several other nutrients that can be beneficial for your body. The first step in the process of making seitan is rinsing the wheat dough to remove starch. This process leaves behind a dense mass of pure gluten protein, which can be seasoned and cooked.

Is Seitan Nutritious?

Yes, seitan has a good nutrient profile and it has several minerals and protein. However, it is very low in fat and carbs. Just one serving of seitan can provide 21 grams of protein, 4% of your daily calcium requirement, and 7% of your daily phosphorous requirement. The reason why seitan is low in carbs is that during the making process of seitan all of the starch in wheat flour will be washed away.

Seitan is a good option for vegans and vegetarians who are looking for protein-rich plant-based foods to add to their daily meals. It was found that around 15-21 grams of protein are present in a 3-ounce serving of seitan. It is also recommended to add lysine-rich foods like beans to your diet because seitan is very low in lysine, an essential amino acid.

Is Seitan Healthy?

Seitan is rich in minerals like iron, selenium, calcium, phosphorous, etc. That means regular consumption of seitan can help in improving many of the body functions, including maintaining bone strength, improving heart health, etc. It is also a good option for people with soy sensitivities and soy allergies, who cannot eat soy-based vegan meats like tofu and tempeh.

You should note that seitan is a highly processed food so you should probably eat it in small amounts. If you have wheat or gluten intolerance, it is better to stay away from seitan because it is made from wheat gluten. Some studies have shown that eating gluten can increase intestinal permeability.

Final Thoughts

Even though some people cannot consume seitan, it is still one of the popular vegan meat substitutes. It is the best vegan meat option for those who cannot eat tofu or tempeh. All you have to make sure is to buy good quality seitan.